Serafini wins 8th straight Cardiac Classic

Louis Serafini of Niskayuna holds up eight fingers after winning his eighth straight Ellis Hospital 5K Cardiac Classic in Schenectady’s Central Park on Thursday.PHOTOGRAPHER: PETER R. BARBER Louis Serafini of Niskayuna holds up eight fingers after winning his eighth straight Ellis Hospital 5K Cardiac Classic in Schenectady’s Central Park on Thursday.

Fresh off his victory in the MVP Health Care Stockade-athon on Nov. 13, Louis Sera­fini won the Foundation for Ellis Medicine’s 5k Cardiac Classic in Schenectady’s Central Park on a busy slate of Thanksgiving road races.

The Niskayuna High School and Boston College graduate won the Cardiac Classic for the eighth year in a row.

Serafini finished in 14:50, 43 seconds ahead of runner-up Matt Lange, 21, of Schenectady, who was also the runner-up last year.

Former Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake star Samantha Roecker of Charlton finished first in the women’s division with a time of 16:54, 1:08 ahead of runner-up Cara Sherman, 19, of Schenectady.

Roecker also won this race in 2014.

The 5k portion of the Troy Turkey Trot, which was first run 100 years ago, was won by Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons graduate Jonathan Aziz for the second year in a row, in 14:56, just three seconds off his time in 2015.

Conor Cashin of Albany was second in 15:10.

In the women’s division, Courtney Breiner of Troy (17:30) edged out Caitlin Abelseth of Voorheesville by one second.

Ricardo Estremera of Tallahassee, Fla. won the men’s 10k with a time of 30:59, 17 seconds ahead of Jacob Andrews of Troy, and Karen Bertasso won the women’s division for the second year in a row, in 36:26.

Jack Vite, 20, of Clifton Park, won the Christopher Dailey 5k Turkey Trot in Saratoga Springs with a time of 16:49, followed by 21-year-old Brian Halligan of Wilton in 17:10.

Stefanie Fresenius, 24, of Ballston Spa, won the women’s race in 19:55, followed by

21-year-old Bailey Kowalczyk of Rexford in 20:13.

In other races, Shaun Donegan of Malta won the 53rd annual Cohoes Turkey Trot in 18:36, and Sarah Ducios of Clifton Park was first among the women in 23:23, and Nick Matson of Clifton Park (17:21) and Lindsay Cheu of Glenmont (19:59) were the respective men’s and women’s winners at the 5th annual St. George’s Antonio Lauria Memorial 5k Turkey Trot in Clifton Park.



At Schenectady


Louis Serafini (25, Niskayuna), 14:50; Matt Lange (21, Schenectady), 15:33; Charles Ragone (18, Niskayuna), 16:03; Kevin Terbush (24, Ballston Spa), 16:34; Michael Cooley (37, Delmar), 16:53; Julian Oakley (23, Charlton), 16:57; Marshall Pagano (23, Brookline, Mass.), 17:06; Brendan Vanvlack (17, Duanesburg), 17:11; Jonathan Ricciardi (19, Pattersonville), 17:18; Zachary Velasquez (22, Chula Vista, Calif.), 17:17.


Samantha Roecker (25, Charlton), 16:54; Cara Sherman (19, Schenectady), 18:02; Megan James (27, Charlton), 19:15; Kerry Flower (16, Schenectady), 19:42; Megan Wagner (20, Niskayuna), 19:47; Abigail Macbeth (26, Schenectady), 19:56; Danielle Skufca (19, Niskayuna), 20:19; Elizabeth Pugliano (36, Denver, Colo.), 20:24; Heidi Stears (24, Amsterdam), 20:43; Erin Macbeth (23, Schenectady), 20:44.




At Saratoga Springs


Jack Vite (20, Clifton Park), 16:49; Brian Halligan (21, Wilton), 17:10; Kevin Gideon (18, Ballston Spa), 17:17; Justin Klotz (18, Ballston Spa), 17:21; Michael Young (18, Gansevoort), 17:46; Sean McKinney (21, Seattle, Wash.), 17:56; Dylan Thayer (25, Potomac, Md.), 18:01; Ryan Burch (22, Greenwich), 18:02; Ryan Bush (12, Saratoga Springs), 18:02; Rick Bush (39, Saratoga Springs), 18:03.


Stefanie Fresenius (24, Ballston Spa), 19:55; Bailey Kowalczyk (21, Rexford), 20:13; Samatha Godfrey (21, Fort Edward), 20:37; Carley Vetter (16, Greenfield Center), 21:03; Ciara Knott (15, Saratoga Springs), 21:03; Samantha Vetter (16, Greenfield Center), 21:03; Caroline Starace (16, Greenfield Center), 21:04; Mariellen Penzer (17, Saratoga Springs), 21:04; Peyton Engborg (16, Greenfield), 21:04; Keellyn Cummings (16, Wilton), 21:04; Megan Morin (15, Greenfield Center), 21:04.





Ricardo Estremera (Tallahassee, Fla.), 30:59; Jacob Andrews (Troy), 31:16; Scott Mindel (Arlington, Mass.), 31:22; Nick Marcantonio (Glens Falls), 31:28; Matt Brooker (Albany), 32:02; Dylan Lowry (Buffalo), 32:35; Sean Nestor (Evan Mills), 32:53; Alex Benway (Saratoga Springs), 33:50; Colin Charpentier (Evan Mills), 34:10; Richard Messineo (Nassau), 34:23.


Karen Bertasso (Albany), 36:26; Brittany Winslow (Ballston Spa), 36:57; Hannah Brooker (Albany), 37:59; Erin Corcoran (Schenectady), 38:17; Francesca Delucia (Troy), 38:28; Nicole Soblosky (Albany), 39:38; Lisa Chase (Albany), 39:41; Madeline Groen (Slingerlands), 40:08; Sarah Popovitch (Saratoga Springs), 41:18.



Jonathan Aziz (Boulder, Colo.), 14:56; Conor Cashin (Albany), 15:10; Justin Van Epps (Clifton Park), 15:38; Jacob Johnson (Albany), 15:52; Aaron Lozier (Albany), 15:59; Louie Dinuzzo (Saratoga Springs), 15:59; Jeremy Carter (Troy), 16:10; Jeff Ares (New York), 16:17; Branden McAuley (Colonie), 16:38; Niall Coughlin (Castleton), 16:46.


Courtney Breiner (Troy), 17:30; Caitlin Abelseth (Voorheesville), 17:31; Mollie Turner (Averill Park), 17:42; Kerry Caher (Clifton Park), 17:56; Catherine Maloy (Albany), 18:04; Kathryn Tenney (Albany), 18:32; Alexandra Mindel (Arlington, Mass.), 18:47; Amanda Chambers (Schenectady), 18:49; Theresa Fiori (Slingerlands), 18:54; Sara Buckley (Slingerlands), 18:55.